Tuesday, December 8, 2009

Carolina

So sickk....yet I am getting out of bed to do some studying. Carolina breeds excellence and stupidity! I should be in bed!

PAIN!

Last night I got the H1N1 vaccine that was provided for Ehringhaus residents. This morning I woke up feeling extremely weak, with a sore throat, coughing up endless amounts of phlegm and I feel extremely weak. I read over the information and it said if there were any side effects they would only last a couple days. I have an LFit exam tomorrow however that I reaaaaallly do not want to go to =(

Vaccines in the middle exams... not a good idea!

Monday, December 7, 2009

End of the semester split moods...

As classes wind down, and people start to stress more...there's a huge split in the moods of people throughout Carolina. It seems as if everyone is either very happy and chill, or very sad and stressed. It's hard to find an appropriate medium.

I myself am either extremely excited classes are ending and I can go on break and start fresh come January, or I am freaking out and worried that I'm going to miss work, do badly in my classes, or overall fail!

As I have mentioned in at least 1 or 2 posts before Carolina has unhealthy stress levels. I think it would be highly beneficial for a program to be created that would allow students to partake in a variety of activities to relieve stress. Games, movies, music, yoga, jogging, talking, reading, etc would be ideal...I'm aware that there are specific clubs and sports that are designated to do this, but I feel like there is no club specifically for relieving stress....One should be created and for a long-term purpose, not just for exams.


Oh so Suite love!

Many people have commented on the difference between girls' suites and guys' suites. People seem to feel that guys suites are more bonded, happy-go-lucky, and overall closer. My suite in particular is extremely close. We are made up of 4 rooms, two people each in 3 of the rooms, and a single person in the 4th room. Two of the double rooms contain all freshman(including me). The third double room is made up of Seniors that are on south campus to be closer to the undergrads, as they are leaders in Inter-varsity (a Christian organization). Finally, our last room is just a shyer guy in the room to himself.

Our suite is so close in fact that 4 of the 7 of us will be requesting a suite together next year, but switching up roommates to mix it up some. Also keep in mind 2 of our 7 are graduating...so almost all of us will be together again.

I think what keeps us together are overall personalities, backgrounds, and traditions. Every Tuesday we have Pokey Stix night. It's something we started either the 2nd or 3rd week here at Carolina. Smash Bros is another tradition. We are constantly playing, even when we shouldn't be!!!!( I don't like the game as much as everyone else)

Other reasons guys suites are better/closer:

- Girls are catty and hold grudges
- Guys get over issues rather quickly
- Girls are more mindful of annoyances
- Guys are more willing to hang out doing nothing
- Girls stick to familiar friends
- Guys are more open to strangers

Sunday, December 6, 2009

Housing Communities

I'm currently hanging out in Horton on 4th floor with my friends JuJu and A-Gri! I've noticed recently how different people are in the different dorms. My E-Haus friends are somewhat different than my Horton friends, and my Horton friends are different from my Koury friends.

It's almost like each dorm gives something special to their personality. E-Haus for example is sorta slummish unlike Horton and Koury which are pretty posh. I don't think that people from Morrison think they are better than people in different dorms at all. There is just almost a certain aura about them that is unlike the other dorms.

If I were to assign certain colors (just for fun) for the different dorms' auras they would be as follows:

Ehringhaus - Rusty Red
Hinton James - Forrest Green
Koury - Yellow
Horton - Aquamarine
Hardin - Purple
Craig - Brown
Craig North
Avery - Lime Green
Carmichael - Blue
Parker - Pink
Teague - Biege
Winston - White
Granville Towers - Sapphire
Cobb - Off white
Joyner - Teal
Upper Quad - Violet
Lower Quad - Salmon
Odum Village - Orange
Rams Village HJ - Bright Red
Rams Village WC - Ivory

Thursday, December 3, 2009

Bored Days

I feel like everyone at UNC works too much! It can't be that healthy. Countless times I have overheard people or just friends who say this: "I'm bored, maybe I should go do some work or something..."

Does anyone just relax anymore? When the mood strikes me that I am bored... this is my attitude: "Hmm I'm bored... I'm just gonna sit and watch a movie or tv, or just sit in general!" I almost feel bad for having this desire when everyone else does work when they are bored... For me to do work, I have to be in a productive mood. I'll go through random moods where I want to work a lot, clean a lot, eat a lot, or sit a lot. Anyone else go through these moods? Anyone just not do work sometimes? It's healthy! Try it!

Wednesday, December 2, 2009

People Watching

Last night at Rams I saw two of my friends sitting at those round tables as soon as you enter the dining hall. I asked them why they were sitting at such an awkward table in the dining hall. They told me that they were people watching and that they got to see everyone that came and left the dining hall this way. Personally I thought you could see much more interesting things in the middle of the cafeteria.

Like my friends, I am one of those people that just enjoys watching other people go about their everyday lives. It's just fun to see people walking around, how they act, what they are wearing, and listen to random parts of peoples' conversations. By the way, if you like listening to funny random bits of conversation, facebook has group called Overheard at UNC. People post the funny or otherwise interesting bits of conversation they hear as the pass people in different locations of campus. Check it out!

Lost and Found

Soo I was sitting in my room the other night checking my email, when I clicked on a message sent to me by one of Ehaus's RAs. It was to let me know that someone had found my OneCard outside of the building and brought it to the front desk and that I could pick it up before midnight. Until I had received the message, I had no idea that I had lost the card in the first place. I guess it fell out of my gym shorts on the way back from working out that night.

Yesterday I had my OneCard all day. I used it to get into rams twice, and to buy a drink at the market. Last night I went to go to the gym to discover that I had lost my card again. I have looked all in my room, in my clothes, my bag, etc. This morning I even got up early to see if I had left it in Rams. I also retraced my steps all the way to Chapman ( where I have my 7pm Astro Lab). Nothing!

So I'm interested in if UNC has a lost and found... I'm also curious how many people actually take things that have been found. I personally think that it would make much more sense to leave whatever is found with someone in charge of that location. For example if you find a OneCard in dining hall you should leave it with the people at the front of the lines.

How do you guys feel about LOST/FOUND?

Tuesday, December 1, 2009

NC State Rivalry?

So it's long been known that there is some animosity between UNC and NCSU, but is there a rivalry? I think not.

This past weekend UNC's football team beat themselves against NCSU. The final score was UNC 27 NCSU 28! One point!! Immediately following the game I was bombarded with not only annoying Facebook messages, but also hateful text messages. One reads: "We just kicked your ass!!!" another reads: "NCST 28 UNC 27 EAT IT!!!!!!!!! HAHA IN YOUR FACE!!!!!"

Is it truly necessary for State kids to act like children to show they finally won something? UNC's overall standing currently for football is 8-4, NCSU's overall standing is 5-7... UNC also qualifies for a bowl game as NCSU does not!

Finally, the most annoying aspect of this whole situation is the fact that UNC's rival is DUKE!! NOT NC STATE!!! It's very cute that State kids think they are our rivals, but someone needs to set them straight.

PS: Does State even have a rival?