Monday, December 7, 2009

Oh so Suite love!

Many people have commented on the difference between girls' suites and guys' suites. People seem to feel that guys suites are more bonded, happy-go-lucky, and overall closer. My suite in particular is extremely close. We are made up of 4 rooms, two people each in 3 of the rooms, and a single person in the 4th room. Two of the double rooms contain all freshman(including me). The third double room is made up of Seniors that are on south campus to be closer to the undergrads, as they are leaders in Inter-varsity (a Christian organization). Finally, our last room is just a shyer guy in the room to himself.

Our suite is so close in fact that 4 of the 7 of us will be requesting a suite together next year, but switching up roommates to mix it up some. Also keep in mind 2 of our 7 are graduating...so almost all of us will be together again.

I think what keeps us together are overall personalities, backgrounds, and traditions. Every Tuesday we have Pokey Stix night. It's something we started either the 2nd or 3rd week here at Carolina. Smash Bros is another tradition. We are constantly playing, even when we shouldn't be!!!!( I don't like the game as much as everyone else)

Other reasons guys suites are better/closer:

- Girls are catty and hold grudges
- Guys get over issues rather quickly
- Girls are more mindful of annoyances
- Guys are more willing to hang out doing nothing
- Girls stick to familiar friends
- Guys are more open to strangers

2 comments:

  1. Guys traditionally DO get along better. However, girls and MUCH cleaner... worth it? Just look into the dirty locker rooms yall call rooms... Just kidding, guys are definitely dirtier, but not all girls are as catty and clicky as you make them out to be. I know stereotypes are based on fact, but that doesn't make them any less offensive.

    ReplyDelete
  2. My friends and I were having this conversation earlier this week when someone was having roommate issues. I am so glad I have a room to myself and only one suitemate. My dorm, being 80% greek is extremely clique-ish so if you didn't know anyone when you got here and you aren't in a sorority you are out of luck... and friends.

    ReplyDelete